1994 Topps Sheet Code Variations…An Ongoing Mystery

8 Oct

Continuing on with my recent spotlighting of post-prime era variations (mid 90s and on), here is a look at a recently discovered (2007-ish) variation affecting an unknown number of 1994 Topps subjects. Several of the base cards are commonly found without a print code on back – very common for this set, however, a handful of these subject have shown up in extremely limited quantities with a print code.

Brought to my attention from a fellow collector, so far, only Mark McGwire, Pedro Martinez, Mel Rojas and an already-forgotten Montreal Expos common have been confirmed. This is most-likely due to the fact that by 1994, the error and variation craze had died down considerably and collectors weren’t pouring over the issue like they had in the late 80s. My own research has been pretty limited as far as this set goes, I’ve poured over half a dozen factory sets and twice as many 3200ct boxes but have never found a with code and without pair.

I’d be interested to hear what the player collectors out there turn up. If anyone has any more info on these variations or other 1994 Topps errors, I’d like to get an ‘Ongoing Checklist’ for 1994 Topps going soon. I am fairly certain there is a lot more to be discovered in 1994 Topps.

5 Responses to “1994 Topps Sheet Code Variations…An Ongoing Mystery”

  1. Eric October 10, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    I believe that Greg Colburnn was the other Expo that had been discovered with and without a print code.

    • Eric October 10, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      Oops – didn’t mean to shortchange Mr. Colbrunn, but I misspelled his name. The card number is 134.

      • Dylan October 11, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

        Great find. Colbrunn was always a favorite, I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for this. I’ll add it the checklist once I get some more info on these. Thanks!

  2. Todd October 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I’m not sure if you’ve covered it before, but there were a lot of Sheet Code Variations among 80s Topps Football. 1984-1987 specifically. I’m not sure about the other years.

    • Dylan October 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Yes, I’m somewhat familiar with them. They also produced a handful of sheet variations in 1992 Topps and several C* / D* varieties exist in 1989.

Leave a Reply

