Quick look: 1992 Topps Gold Winners Rickey Henderson #2

18 Dec

I’ve long been working on a master set of 1992 Topps Gold Winner cards. At last count, there were over 100 different variations in the set! And since I keep discovering new ones with each lot I sort, the parameters for the ‘master set’ title remain ambiguous. Again, I will post extensively about this set at a later date, but for now, take a look at the first card in the set to feature a variation: #2, Rickey Henderson’s Record Breaker card (the base card also features a variation, though a different one entirely). Notice the 2 different sizes of the ‘ToppsGold’ watermark on the back:

8 Responses to “Quick look: 1992 Topps Gold Winners Rickey Henderson #2”

  1. Stephen Padwe October 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Any chance you can either list all of the variations in the 1992 Topps Gold Winners set or send them to me. I am trying to complete a master set. Your old ebay listing stated there were 73 sheet letter variations. I’m not sure that is correct. If I get your list I will compare it to mine and see what differences I have.

  2. Stephen Padwe January 3, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Last request, same issue. Can you please either send me a complete listing of your 1992 Topps Gold Winners variations or list them here. I am trying to complete a master set and need help. Thanks

    • junkwaxgems January 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Hi Stephen,

      I had the full list on a computer that died last September, I was trying to compile the list again through sorting out a master set but fell behind once work and school started again. I will contact you as soon as I compile the info again. The gist of the set is that a bunch of players on A*, B*, D*, E* and F* sheets can also be found with C* print codes on back. This was most-likely due to them creating a separate C* sheet with semi and star players. Also, the bulk of these are horizontal-front cards. I hope that helps for now!

  3. Eric January 20, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    I would also be interested in a master set listing for the 1992 Topps Gold Winners set.

    • Dylan January 23, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Eric,

      Unfortunately, that list was lost long ago. It was a tedious effort too. Maybe down the line when I am willing to revisit that project, I can compile another and post it.

      • cl_kyle April 9, 2013 at 9:07 am #

        Here’s the link to your list from Collectors Universe: http://forums.collectors.com/messageview.cfm?catid=11&threadid=729618 I’m not sure how many others you found after that.

      • cl_kyle April 10, 2013 at 8:23 am #

        A few corrections/updates:

        155 s/b D*/F* (not C*)
        272 Jerry Don Gleaton (not card number 271)
        394-396 Confirmed to have TG High/Low variations (Denny Martinez, Tom Glavine, Lee Smith)

        My 351 Greg Riddoch A* is missing the ‘Winner*’ portion of the gold foil and looks like a regular Topps Gold. I pulled it from an unopened Winner pack yesterday. Has anyone else seen this?

        I’m also noticing some other back variations where some have the ‘Topps Gold’ bolded and almost an orange vs. the standard faded/yellow look of the logo. Anyone know if this is an actual variation (like the 40th Anniversary logos the year before)?

  4. cl_kyle May 8, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Went through another batch of these yesterday, here’s my findings:

    69 Kenny Lofton – TG High/Low variation (not as obvious as most, have versions where logo extends slightly below Totals stats and just shy of the bottom of the numbers)
    398/399/406 Confirmed to have TG High/Low variations (Julio Franco, Wade Boggs, Jim Abbott)

Leave a Reply

